Bears’ Trey Burton named NFL’s Walter Payton Man of Year finalist

Bears tight finish Trey Burton is among the 32 nominees introduced Thursday for the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Yr award.

Different notable finalists are former Bears Julius Peppers and Robbie Gould, Broncos’ Von Miller and the Eagles’ Chris Long.

“It’s an unimaginable and humbling honor to be nominated,” Burton stated in a press release. “I’m so grateful for everybody who has supported me in my profession, most importantly my wife, household, teammates, coaches and the Bears organization. To even be mentioned in the same breath as Walter Payton is actually special and I hope to continue following in his footsteps to make an enduring influence on our group.”

Burton has pledged to donate $1,000 per catch and $2,500 per landing to International Justice Mission, a worldwide group that aims to remove slave trade. Thus far, Burton has raised over $50,000. He has additionally chosen to help IJM for My Cause, My Cleats.

Burton can also be one in every of 5 gamers on the Bears social justice committee.

Bears cornerback Charles Tillman gained the 2013 Walter Payton Man of the Yr, marking the franchise’s fifth player to be so honored: Payton (1977), Dave Duerson (1987), Mike Singletary (1990) and Jim Flanigan (2000).

In contrast to prior to now, when three finalists have been chosen earlier than a recipient was chosen, one player from each NFL staff is a finalist. All might be recognized and take part in NFL features throughout Tremendous Bowl week. The Man of the Yr can be revealed at NFL Honors, when The Associated Press’ individual NFL awards are announced Feb. 2 in Atlanta.

The Man of the Yr is honored for excellent group service off the sector, as well as excellence on it. It was established in 1970 and renamed in 1999 for the Hall of Fame operating again.

“The Man of the Yr Award provides us the opportunity to acknowledge 32 exemplary gamers whose commitment to excellence extends on and off the sector,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell stated. “This yr’s nominees have used their platforms to rework communities throughout the nation. We’re pleased with their work and rejoice their dedication and impression by way of this award.”

The five present gamers who have gained the award — Drew Brees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Eli Manning and J.J. Watt — put on a Man of the Yr patch on their jerseys. All 2018 finalists will put on a Man of the Yr helmet decal starting this week via the top of the season.

Listed here are the finalists:

Arizona Cardinals: Antoine Bethea

Atlanta Falcons: Grady Jarrett

Baltimore Ravens: Brandon Carr

Buffalo Payments: Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers: Julius Peppers

Chicago Bears: Trey Burton

Cincinnati Bengals: Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns: Christian Kirksey

Dallas Cowboys: Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos: Von Miller

Detroit Lions: Matthew Stafford

Green Bay Packers: Kenny Clark

Houston Texans: Whitney Mercilus

Indianapolis Colts: Jabaal Sheard

Jacksonville Jaguars: Blake Bortles

Kansas City Chiefs: Dustin…

Source link